Wayne Yearbury wins Papakura Engine Specialists Top Doorslammer at The Rock FM 2015 Nitro Shootout

January 10&11, 2015

Bobby Owens broke the national BB/TS record at The Rock FM 2015 Nitro Shootout

Bobby Owens broke the national BB/TS record in the first round of The Rock FM 2015 Nitro Shootout [Photo by: Popeye Pics]

Ten competitors fronted for the Papakura Engine Specialists Top Doorslammer bracket at The Rock FM 2015 Nitro Shootout. Mark Bardsley, in the Rislone 68 Camaro, was the first doorslammer to come out for Saturday's qualifying. His 6.923 at 206.01 was a gratifying first pass on his new motor. Ross Taylor, in the Ross Taylor Motors 57 Chev, recorded a 7.265 at 219.83 to be in second position. Trevor Smith, in The Earthmover 75 Statesman, failed to start and was out for the meeting. Wayne Yearbury, in the KC Tools 53 Studebaker, had a bolt come loose from his throttle and he did not make a pass.

The second qualifying session was again lead out by Bardsley who improved with a 6.515 at 217.95. Both numbers were PB's for Mark. Barry Plumpton, in the Focus Construction Group 2005 Monte Carlo, improved upon his 8.4 with an 8.2. Bobby Owens dropped down to a 7.380 at 188.73, in his 64 Falcon. Gary Benham, in his 51 Holden Ute, recorded a PB of 8.233 at 153.49. Nigel Dixon improved with an 8.192 at 142.73 in the Pedens Collision Repair 68 Camaro. Russell Lowe, in The Toy Shed 69 Camaro, recorded a 7.547 at 192.41. Ross Taylor stopped after his burnout. Rod Benjes, in the DB Racecars 96 Beretta, set two PB's with a 6.623 at 214.66, but torched a head and was out for the weekend. Yearbury was the last car out and took the number one spot with a 6.297 at 222.51.

1Wayne Yearbury53 Studebaker521 BAEPapakura6.297222.51
2Mark Bardsley68 Camaro526 BAEManukau6.515217.95
3Rod Benjes96 Beretta526 TFXWellington6.623214.66
4Ross Taylor57 Chev Sport Coup511 TFXPukekohe7.265219.83
5Bobby Owens64 Falcon509 ChevTe Awamutu7.380188.73
6Russell Lowe69 Camaro509 ChevRotorua7.547192.41
7Nigel Dixon68 Camaro500 CICambridge8.192142.73
8Gary Benham51 Holden Ute509 ChevWaitara8.233153.49
9Barry Plumpton05 Monte Carlo823 ChevMassey8.242147.02
10Trevor Smith75 Statesman511 TFXPukekoheDNS 

Bobby Owens and Russell Lowe started the first round of eliminations. Both recorded a 7.3 with Bobby's 7.341 at 188.73 beating Russell's 7.387 at 192.63 by 0.008 seconds. The pass gave Bobby both ends of the national BB/TS record. The 7.341 was backed up by Bobby's 7.380 qualifier to break Craig Browns 7.355 record set in 2008. Bobby's 188.73 was backed up by his identical 188.73, recorded in qualifying, to also break the speed record, which was set at 188.52 by Tim Watkins in 1996.

Next up was Mark Bardsley and Gary Benham. Mark took the win with a 6.665 at 213.23 from Gary's 8.266 at 135.47. Ross Taylor had a bye after Barry Plumpton advised out. It was just as well, as he went sideways off the line and recorded an 8.258 at 192.28. Wayne Yearbury was the last car out and had the top qualifiers bye. He was also fortunate as he smoked the tyres and went sideways for an 11 second pass.

The second round failed to happen on Saturday, as the meeting was running well behind time after a few oildowns and the meeting concluded on the Sunday. Bobby Owens could not return on the Sunday. Ross Taylor was out with some damage. That left Mark Bardsley and Wayne Yearbury to face off for the final. Mark went very sideways for a 13 second pass and Wayne took out the Papakura Engine Specialists Top Doorslammer bracket with a plug burning 7.0 at 182 mph, in the Kc Tools 53 Studebaker.