Barry Plumpton wins Top Doorslammer at round 3 of the 2014/15 Meremere Dragway Track Championship

January 31, 2015

Seven competitors fronted for the Top Doorslammer bracket at the third round of the 2014/15 Meremere Dragway Track Championship. Wayne Yearbury drove the KC Tools 1953 Studebaker straight to the head of the qualifying list with a 6.523 at 228.11 mph, in the first qualifying session. Barry Plumpton, in the Focus Construction Group 2005 Monte Carlo was second with a 8.030.

The second session saw Mark Bardsley move into second position with a 6.635 at 216.90 in the Rislone 68 Camaro and Trevor Smith put the Earthmover 73 Stateman into third position with a PB of 6.900 at 210.83 mph.

1Wayne Yearbury53 Studebaker521 BAEPapakura6.523228.11
2Mark Bardsley68 Camaro526 BAEManukau6.635216.90
3Trevor Smith75 Statesman511 TFXPukekohe6.900210.83
4Nigel Dixon68 Camaro522 CICambridge7.924139.27
5Barry Plumpton05 Monte Carlo823 ChevMassey8.030173.27
6Russell Lowe69 Camaro509 ChevRotorua8.180186.74
7Gary Benham51 Holden Ute509 ChevWaitaraNTR 

The first round of eliminations saw Wayne Yearbury with the top qualifiers bye, but he dropped a valve during the burnout and his day was done. Mark Bardsley used a 6.697 at 197.22 defeat Gary Benham's 8.534 in his 51 Holden Ute. Barry Plumpton recorded a 7.523 to defeat Nigel Dixon's troubled 10 second pass. Russell Lowe used a 7.137, in The Toy Shed 69 Camaro, to defeat Trevor Smith's 7.456.

With Yearbury out and Bardsley stripping a sparkplug seat, the second round became the final. Barry Plumpton won the bracket in his 2005 Monte Carlo with a 12 second pass when Russell Lowe did not stage.

A number of drivers then came out for test runs. Trevor Smith improved upon his qualifying PB with a 6.774 at 207.46. Gary Benham also set a PB at 8.171 at 154.69. Both came out again only to set PB's again. A 6.729 at 213.30 for Trevor and a 8.090 at 162.67 for Gary. Cess Miller was also on hand to complete his licensing passes, which he did successfully.